The next Brigitte Gedek Prize will be awarded in 2025.

Brigitte Gedek Science Prize

The Brigitte and Wolfram Gedek-Foundation (Brigitte und Wolfram Gedek-Stiftung) was founded in 2009. The foundation supports scientists who dedicated their research to the field of mycology and mycotoxinology.

The Society for Mycotoxin Research awards the Brigitte Gedek Science Prize for outstanding scientific achievements in the area of mycotoxicology on a biennial basis since 2000, with the generous support from Prof. Dr. Brigitte Gedek (formerly Professor for Bacteriology and Mycology at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University of Munich, Germany). 

The prize is endowed with 10,000 Euro, further emphasizing the outstanding importance of this honour in the field of life sciences.

The Brigitte Gedek Science Prize is scheduled again for 2023 Applications can only be made by a member of the 
Society for Mycotoxin Research (unsolicited applications are not accepted).

Former prize winners

  • 2020/2021 Annika Jagels (Whitney, Florida, USA) and Benedikt Warth (Wien, Austria)
  • 2018 Ludwig Niessen (Weihenstephan, Germany) and Ricardo Assunção (Lisbon, Portugal)
  • 2016 Friederike Meyer-Wolfarth (Brunswick, Germany)
  • 2014 Annie Pfohl-Leszkovicz (Toulouse, France) and Madeleine Gross (Giessen, Germany)
  • 2010 Tobias Polte (Leipzig, Germany)
  • 2008 Wageha Awad (Vienna, Austria) and Markus Schmidt-Heydt (Karlsruhe, Germany)
  • 2006 Franz Berthiller (Tulln, Austria)
  • 2004 Kristian Fog Nielsen (Lyngby, Denmark) and Karsten Meyer (Weihenstephan, Germany)
  • 2002 Eckhardt Johanning (New York, USA) and Uwe Lauber (Stuttgart, Germany)
  • 2000 Michael Gekle (Wuerzburg, Germany)

Copyright © 2021 Society for Mycotoxin Research/ Gesellschaft für Mykotoxinforschung e.V. (GMF) 

All Rights Reserved. 


No portions of this website may be used without written permission. 

Reproduction and evaluation of press releases and documents offered for downloading is admissible.